Star Wars VII (no spoilers)

Star Wars: Episode VII The Force Awakens is a beautiful film. What I appreciated most on first viewing was the minimally invasive use of computer graphics. I’m no expert, but I can recognize real sand.

Upon further reflection, I realize how much of the content is similar, purposefully or coincidentally, to the Star Wars expanded universe novels, the majority of which I have read during the past twenty years beginning with Timothy Zahn’s Heir to the Empire. In order avoid spoilers, I won’t go into more detail except to say that I still maintain hope that Grand Admiral Thrawn, or an analogous character, might appear in upcoming films.

Satisfied with the film today, I anticipate ongoing enjoyment of future films. For now, The Force Awakens is tied for second place in my evaluation of the Star Wars movies.

via Tumblr

Leave a Reply

